The Fund for Haywood County serves donors and nonprofits. This endowment fund was established in 1994 by caring individuals who recognized the importance of a permanent charitable capital resource to support the ever-changing needs and opportunities in Haywood County.

Contributions made to The Fund for Haywood County are pooled and invested by The Community Foundation.  Proceeds from the investments are used to make grants while the original gifts remain intact, continuing to grow for the benefit of future generations. 

Nonprofit organizations and public institutions may apply to The Fund for Haywood County for support.  Review the guidelines and application information for the People in Need grants for more details.

You can make a difference in Haywood County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate.  By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs. 

We decided many years ago that we would give back to this remarkable community that has been so good to us. We found we could do that through The Fund for Haywood County. We have the option of annual giving and creating a permanent fund that continues giving into the future. It is the perfect organization that facilitates our giving safely and efficiently. 

Ken and Kathy Wilson


Many thanks to these generous donors who supported The Fund for Haywood County 

(07/01/15 - 06/30/16):


Dr. and Mrs. William C. Allsbrook Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Larry R. Ammons

Mr. and Ms. Timothy J. Bittmann-Neville

Mr. Raymond Caldwell

Mr. Mark B. Clasby

Ms. Elizabeth Culbreth and Mr. John Vanderstar

Mr. and Dr. Larry E. East

Mr. and Mrs. Neal R. Ensley

Mr. and Mrs. R. Parrish Ezell

Dr. and Mrs. Najeeb O. Ghaussy

Dr. Kristen Hammett

Dr. Doris B. Hammett

Mr. Ron Huelster and Voni D'Angio

Mr. and Mrs. George D. Ivey

Dr. Susan Jenkins

Mr. and Mrs. Erwin Roe Jones III

Ms. Carolyn Jordan

Mr. Rolf Kaufman

Mr. and Mrs. John W. Keith

Mr. Bruce A. Kingshill

Mr. Theodore Lappas Jr.

Mrs. Christine Mallette

Mr. and Mrs. Scott McLeod

Mr. and Mrs. Stephen H. McNeil

Dr. Mark Mittelman

Dr. and Mrs. Barton R. Paschal

Mr. and Mrs. James B. Phelan

Mr. Jeremy Phillips

Mrs. Rebecca H. Prevost

Mrs. Marty Prevost

Mr. Harris Prevost

Mrs. B. J. Ray

Mrs. Judith Ross

Mr. and Mrs. Raymond B. Rutherford

Dr. and Mrs. Bennie R. Sharpton

Mr. Thomas R. Smith

Mr. and Mrs. David Stallings

Dr. and Mrs. Donald S. Stanton

Mr. and Mrs. Peter Sterling

The Honorable and Mrs. David Sutton

Dr. and Mrs. John F. Tannehill

Mr. and Mrs. Charles D. Umberger Jr.

Mr. Derek and Mrs. Sarah Wenzel

Mr. and Mrs. Ken Wilson

Mr. Kenneth Wilson and the Rev. Kathleen Wilson

Mr. and Mrs. James Wood

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution.  Legacy Society members of The Fund for Haywood County include: 

Mason Barrett
Paul O. Germann Jr.
Najeeb and Dionne Ghaussy
George and Laura Ivey
Rolf Kaufman
Melissa van Noppen
Jim and Katie Ray
Billie and Bob Venner

Contact Us

Staff Directory
Email Us

Find Us

4 Vanderbilt Park Drive
Suite 300
Asheville, NC 28803

Receive Email Updates