You can make a difference in the Swannanoa Valley by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate. By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs.

Marcus and I came to the Swannanoa Valley as a young couple with no resources, but lots of hopes and dreams.  For us and our family, now four generations, this community has provided wonderful opportunities for family, business, faith, school, civic and cultural relationships.  This special community has played a vital role in raising and shaping the life values of our family’s children, grandchildren, and now, great-grandchildren.  Promoting and supporting our local endowment is the very best way for us to pay our gratitude forward, so that many others in our Valley can thrive.  

Ruby Begley


Many thanks to these generous donors who supported Black Mountain - Swannanoa Valley Endowment Fund 



Mr. and Mrs. William Abromitis

Mr. Philip S. Arnold

Mr. and Mrs. Gaylord L. Baker

Mrs. Nada M. Barnett

Mr. and Mrs. David Barstow

Mr. and Mrs. Bill Bastian

Ms. Meredith Begley

Mr. and Mrs. William Michael Begley

Mrs. Ruby B. Begley

Black Mountain Savings Bank

Mrs. Doreen O. Biebusch

Mr. William C. Biebusch

Mr. and Mrs. Bruce James Blackley

Mrs. Kemper Bornman

Mrs. Ella Boyle

Ms. Gladys R. Brooks

Highland Farms Residents Corporation

Ms. Joan G. Brown

Camp Rockmont for Boys, Inc.

Mr. and Mrs. David Bruce

Mr. and Mrs. John F. Buckner

Dr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Cannon

Dr. Julia A. Capps

Mrs. Carol B. Cauthen

Mr. and Mrs. W. Travis Childs III

Mrs. Jane Collins

Mr. and Mrs. Fred Connelly

Mr. and Mrs. Austin C. Cooley

Dr. and Mrs. Henry J. Copeland Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. John R. Corkran

Mr. and Mrs. Ben T. Craig Jr.

Col. (Ret) and Mrs. William H. Creed

Ms. Katherine Cross

Ms. Lynn J. Deese

Ms. June Dreznick

Mr. and Mrs. David D. Duncan

Mr. and Mrs. Steven G. Dunning

Mrs. Lucy Dusthimer

Ms. Linda Eyestone

Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth B. Farmer Jr.

Mrs. Ellen Farrior

Dr. and Mrs. Robert Finegan

Mr. Charles E. Fitzgerald

Mrs. Frances T. Fitzgerald

Ms. Jennifer Diane Fitzgerald

Dr. Andrew Forbat

Mrs. Marjorie E. Forbes

Rev. Wm. Maynard Fountain Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Clarence D. Fouse Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Randal Frazer

Mr. Arthur Fricke

Ms. Jane Frist

Dr. and Mrs. Joseph M. Gettys Jr.

Ms. Jean L. Gettys

Mr. and Mrs. Daniel D. Gilbert

Grove Stone & Sand Company

Mr. Robert B. Goodson

Mr. and Mrs. Henry Griffin

Ms. Carol Groben and Mr. Douglas A. Lebbon

Mrs. Mary E. Hafley

Ms. Pat Hammack

Ms. Cheryl Ann Harper

Mr. and Mrs. Larry B. Harris

Dr. Robert N. Headley

Mr. and Mrs. Bill Henderson

Ms. Elizabeth Hermelee and Dr. Norman Gottlieb

Mr. and Mrs. Don Herrick

Mr. and Mrs. Jerone C. Herring

Mr. and Mrs. C. Roger Hibbard

Mr. and Mrs. William R. Hile

Ms. Sara P. Hill

Mr. and Mrs. Harold E. Holcombe

Mrs. Elizabeth W. Holden

Mr. William G. Hollins

Mr. and Mrs. Maury Hurt

Ms. Dorothy M. Inglis

Mr. and Mrs. Jim Ingram

Mr. and Mrs. William M. Janes

Mr. Cecil Jividen

Mr. and Mrs. David W. Johnson

Ms. Dorothy R. Johnson

Mr. and Mrs. John R. Johnson

Ms. Elizabeth B. Justice

Mrs. Frances H. Kennedy

Mr. and Mrs. Greg Kershner

Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Lamm

Mr. and Mrs. Jeter Lee

The Rev. Fitzhugh M. Legerton

Mr. Jim Lenhart

Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Linton

Ms. Elizabeth Maxwell

Mr. and Mrs. Michael Mayer

Dr. and Mrs. Ben McCarty

Mr. and Mrs. William McGuire

Rev. and Mrs. Neil M. McMillan

Seven Sisters Gallery

Mr. and Mrs. Steve Miller

Mrs. Katherine B. Moore

Mr. and Mrs. Danny H. Mullis

Dr. Gretchen Naff

Mrs. Suzie Nelon

The Rev. Dr. Jerry M. Newbold Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Edward N. Orange

Dr. and Mrs. Isaac Owolabi

Mr. Charles C. Peck

Mr. and Mrs. Harry J. Petrequin Jr.

Mr. Lew Ponder

Mr. and Mrs. Heath K. Rada

Mr. and Mrs. John A. Reeves

Mr. and Mrs. Don Reid

Ms. Jeanette Reid

Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. Reiley

Mrs. Jean O. Reilly

Ms. Virginia Robinson

Mr. and Mrs. Chuck Root

Ms. Penny R. Rose

Mr. and Mrs. Robb E. Ross

Mr. and Mrs. Scott D. Roy

Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Shaw

Mrs. George Shea

Mrs. Florence H. Shelor

Dr. and Mrs. Gene M. Shuford

Mr. and Mrs. Charlie Sparks

Mr. Joseph and Dr. Mary Standaert

Ms. Barbara L. Griffin and Mr. Clay W. Stauff

Mr. and Mrs. Bill Straughan Jr.

The Rev. and Mrs. James Taylor

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas G. Tracy Jr.

Mrs. Leslie C. Tucker Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Ed Turley

Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Tuttle

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Walker

Dr. and Mrs. Willis Weatherford

Mr. and Mrs. Lee Wilcox

Mr. and Mrs. Roston M. Williamson

Mr. and Mrs. Gene Witherspoon

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals

individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution.  Legacy Society members of the Black Mountain – Swannanoa Valley Endowment Fund include:

  • James A.* and Donna D.* Buckner
  • Thomas R. and Katharine W. (Scottie) Cannon
  • Mr. and Mrs. Lester E. Forbes*
  • Henry and Barbara Griffin
  • Sara Hill
Contact Us

Staff Directory
Email Us

Find Us

4 Vanderbilt Park Drive
Suite 300
Asheville, NC 28803

Receive Email Updates